Subscribe to the Safety & Simulation Research News Digest

Attention Undergraduate and
Graduate Students:

Are you interested in the multidisciplinary approach to transportation? Do you want to learn concepts that will teach you how to reduce the burden of road traffic deaths? In the Global Road Safety course, you will learn skills that will set you apart in the rapidly changing transportation system, including geomapping, policy development, and technology used in traffic studies. You will adopt a country for the semester and learn in depth about that country’s road safety.

Course: Global Road Safety (3 semester-hours)
Instructors: Cara Hamann and Cori Peek-Asa
When: Spring 2017
1:00 – 3:30 pm
Where: Web, Virtual Classroom
Who: Undergraduate and Graduate Students

Global Road Safety is a 3 semester-hour class that will be held online every Tuesday from 1:00 pm – 3:30 pm. Undergraduate and graduate students are eligible to register for the course. Students NOT from the University of Iowa will need to apply as non-degree seeking students in order to register. $500 scholarships are available for up to 10 students to help offset the cost of tuition. Use the links below for more information about this course. Contact Cara Hamann ( if you have any questions about the class, registering, or scholarships.

Global Road Safety Course Page
Introduction Video
Non-UIowa Undergraduate Students
Non-UIowa Graduate Students

SAFEty Research using SIMulation

The SAFER-SIM University Transportation Center is dedicated to promoting interdisciplinary research using simulation techniques to address the safety issues prioritized by the U.S. Department of Transportation.